Le Centre Alexandrin
d'Étude des Amphores

The Alexandrian Centre for Amphora Studies

logo cnrs

CEAlex - USR 3134
Présentation
Introduction
Amphores
Amphorae
Anses timbrées
Stamped Handles
Fouilles
Digs
Publications ChronAmphora Bibliothèque CAEA
CAEA Library
Ressources en ligne
On-line resources
Plan du site
Site plan
Mise à jour
Update

Chronique Amphora /
The Amphora Chronicle

Présentation /
Introduction
Écrire au webmaster /
Contact the webmaster
Recensions en ligne /
Reviews on line

ChronAmphora - A critical amphora chronicle

GENERAL INTRODUCTION

Jean-Yves Empereur

The amphora chronicle that we wish to propose is designed to give notice as quickly as possible of the appearance of publications concerning amphoras and storage vases in general. Monographs and articles will be considered depending on the geographic and chronological competence of our reviewers. As far as is possible conferences will be advertised as well as specialist research as it happens (PhDs, MAs etc.). We are not however proposing a list of ongoing exacavations, but a bibliographic base.

Total coverage is, we know, a dream, however, we already have a solid team of contributors that will grow. We have gathered together colleagues at home in, among other languages, Arabic, Bulgarian, Modern Greek, Hebrew, Romanian, Russian, Ukranian and Turkish. Soon other specialists fluent in yet other languages spoken along the shores the Mediterranean will join us. We hope to provide useful information for the historian and archaeologist specialising in ancient and medieval ceramics. Of course, the time scale is huge, from the Archaic Greek period, indeed perhaps before, up until the Ottoman era. Our geographic limits are a function of the competence of our writers, that is to say the Near East, Egypt and the Eastern Mediterranean n general, as well as the Black Sea. Never the less, should the opportunity arrive we would never refuse any adventures into the Western Mediterranean if it was felt necessary. All the more so because, as far as we know, there is no on-line amphora chronicle for this part of the ancient world.

The obvious advantage of a digital publication over a traditional one is the speed in delivery of information and the ease of working together as a group open for non-stop discussion. This is noticeably aided by Amphora, the distribution list of amphora specialists. Another advantage, and no lesser, is an indexing of information that can avoid the constraints of a rigid classification and thus create a cumulative database of specialist reviews, without an arbitrary slicing up into chronological chunks. Thus we will simply post the reviews in their order of arrival. This Chronicle will allow one to read directly the latest reviews while still have access to the totality of the information.

The languages to be used in the reviews will be above all English and French, though also German, Spanish and Italian. The tone should be one of respectful and polite criticism.

For more information, contact the webmaster:
webmaster.chronamphora@amphoralex.org
Should we have missed an article, please let us know of the omission and we will try to rectify it as soon as possible. You can also send us your publicatiosn either in electronic format to the webmaster, or as printed matter to the following address:
Centre d'Etudes Alexandrines, Maison de l'Orient, 7 rue Raulin, 69007 Lyon, France

Abbreviations of publication titles follows that of Année Philologique
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ARTH/lannee.html

Authors’ initials
PB = Pascale Ballet; DD = Delphine Dixneuf; JYE = Jean-Yves Empereur; GF = Gérald Finkielstejn; GCS = Gonca Cankardes Senol; AKS = Ahmet Kaan Senol; SM = Sylvie Marchand; MP = Mikaël Pesenti

Copyright : © 2008 CEAlex, Centre d'Études Alexandrines, Alexandrie
Publisher : Jean-Yves Empereur
Editors-in-Chief: Kaan Senol & Gonca Senol
webmaster : webmaster.chronamphora@amphoralex.org

collection

Français English

Le Centre Alexandrin
d'Étude des Amphores

The Alexandrian Centre for Amphora Studies

logo cnrs

CEAlex - USR 3134
Présentation
Introduction
Amphores
Amphorae
Anses timbrées
Stamped Handles
Fouilles
Digs
Publications ChronAmphora Bibliothèque CAEA
CAEA Library
Ressources en ligne
On-line resources
Plan du site
Site plan
Mise à jour
Update

Chronique Amphora /
The Amphora Chronicle

Présentation /
Introduction
Écrire au webmaster /
Contact the webmaster
Recensions en ligne /
Reviews on line

ChronAmphora - Chronique Amphorique critique

PRÉSENTATION GÉNÉRALE

Jean-Yves Empereur

La chronique amphorique que vous allez découvrir a pour ambition de signaler dans les délais les plus courts les publications sur les amphores et les vases conteneurs en général. Les monographies, les articles sont pris en compte, suivant les compétences géographiques et chronologiques des recenseurs. Autant que possible, les colloques seront signalés, ainsi que les recherches en cours (doctorats, PhD, etc.). Il ne s’agit toutefois pas d’une base factuelle relatant les fouilles en cours, mais d’une base bibliographique.

L’exhaustivité reste une utopie, mais nous disposons déjà d’une solide équipe de contributeurs, destinée à se renforcer : déjà, elle rassemble des collègues qui lisent, entre autres, l’arabe, le bulgare, le grec moderne, l’hébreu, le roumain, le russe, l’ukrainien et le turc et bientôt nous rejoindront des spécialistes des autres langues utilisées sur les rives de la Méditerranée. Nous espérons apporter une information utile aux historiens tout comme aux archéologues spécialistes de céramique antique et médiévale. Le spectre chronologique est large, depuis l’époque archaïque grecque, voire parfois au-delà, jusqu’à la période ottomane. L’aire géographique est soumise aux compétences des auteurs, c’est à dire au Proche-Orient, à l’Égypte et à la Méditerranée orientale en général ainsi qu’à la Mer Noire. Néanmoins, nous ne nous refuserons pas le cas échéant quelques incursions en Méditerranée occidentale si le besoin s’en fait sentir, d’autant qu’à notre connaissance, il n’existe pas de chronique amphorique en ligne pour cette partie du monde antique.

L’avantage évident de l’informatique sur une publication traditionnelle est le gain de temps dans la livraison de l’information et la facilité de travailler ensemble, dans un groupe ouvert et en perpétuelle discussion, notamment grâce à la liste de diffusion destinée aux spécialistes des amphores, Amphora. Un autre avantage, et pas des moindres, est l’indexation des informations qui permet de sortir du carcan d’un classement rigide et de rendre cumulative cette base de comptes-rendus spécialisés, sans la tronçonner arbitrairement en tranches chronologiques. Ces facilités de classement expliquent qu’ait été simplement retenu l’ordre d’arrivée des comptes-rendus. Ce bulletin permettra de lire directement les dernières recensions, tout en interrogeant sur la totalité des informations.

Les langues employées dans les recensions sont surtout l’anglais et le français, mais aussi l’allemand, l’espagnol et l’italien. Le ton est celui d’une critique respectueuse et courtoise.

Pour plus de renseignements, on s’adressera au webmaster :
webmaster.chronamphora@amphoralex.org
De même, si un article nous a échappé, signalez lui cet oubli et nous essaierons de le réparer au plus vite. Vous pouvez aussi nous envoyer vos publications soit sous forme électronique auprès du webmaster, soir sous forme imprimée à l’adresse ‘Centre d’Etudes Alexandrines, Maison de l’Orient, 7 rue Raulin, 69007 Lyon, France’.

Les abréviations des titres des revues suivent l’Année Philologique:
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ARTH/lannee.html

Abréviations des signatures:
PB = Pascale Ballet; DD = Delphine Dixneuf; JYE = Jean-Yves Empereur; GF = Gérald Finkielstejn; GCS = Gonca Cankardes Senol; AKS = Ahmet Kaan Senol; SM = Sylvie Marchand, MP = Mikaël Pesenti

Copyright : © 2008 CEAlex, Centre d'Études Alexandrines, Alexandrie
Directeur de la publication : Jean-Yves Empereur
Responsables de la rédaction : Kaan et Gonca Senol
webmaster : webmaster.chronamphora@amphoralex.org

collection

Français English